Concerning Inspiration

In my experience, inspiration is fleeting and unreliable. It comes in an instant, leaves the next, and never when you are seeking it. It only seems to show itself when I am in no position to act on it. Because of this, I am often forced to work independent of it, creating what I see as a heap of meaningless, uninspired palaver.

IMG_20150804_073724_671

Not only is it fleeting, but it’s significance is completely contingent on the individual. A crudely drawn scene can communicate great significance¬† to me while only causing slight disgust in another; an animosity towards the misunderstood. A misshapen figure can be viewed as a mistake by the world, while it carries the weight of the world in the eyes of its creator. This, of course, is infuriating to creative individuals who want to share a moment of realization with others.

IMG_20150804_073922_850

As far as pursuing inspiration goes, for me, it is most commonly found in music. Having no musical talent myself, I have great admiration for those who do, particularly for those who are willing to experiment and express themselves in new artful ways. It is while listening to such artists that I make, what I consider to be, my best work. Images that I can step into, feel their temperature, their motion, their smell, and their weight.

IMG_20150804_073850_242

Regards,

Simeon C.

Published by

simeon

Freelance illustrator, graphic designer, and blogger.

Leave a Reply

